Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:

New Zealand Curriculum Online navigation


Framework to Draft: 1993–2006

framework to draft
The New Zealand Curriculum Framework (the NZCF) The New Zealand Curriculum: Draft for Consultation 2006
The NZCF comprised The New Zealand Curriculum Framework (not gazetted) plus seven gazetted curriculum documents. The draft NZC is a single document. The final document will be gazetted.
The national curriculum defined the following essential skills: communication; numeracy; information; problem-solving; self-management and competitive; social and cooperative; physical; work and study. Five key competencies link skills, attitudes and values: thinking, using language symbols and texts; managing self; relating to others; and participating and contributing.

The values in the NZCF included:

  • honesty
  • reliability
  • respect for others
  • respect for the law
  • tolerance (rangimãrie)
  • fairness
  • caring or compassion (aroha)
  • non-sexism and non-racism.

New Zealand students are encouraged to value:

  • excellence
  • innovation, enquiry, and curiosity
  • diversity
  • respect
  • equity
  • community and participation
  • care for the environment
  • integrity.
The NZCF covered seven essential learning areas: the arts, language and languages, mathematics, health and physical well-being, science, social sciences, and technology.

The draft NZC includes eight learning areas: arts, English, learning languages, mathematics and statistics, health and physical education, science, social sciences, and technology.


A new area, learning languages, has been added.

Mathematics is retitled mathematics and statistics.

Health and physical well-being is retitled health and physical education.

No information was included about school-based curriculum design. A section on designing a school curriculum is included.
No material on pedagogy was included. A section on pedagogy is included.

Published on: 17 Mar 2008