Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:

New Zealand Curriculum Online navigation


Draft to final: 2006–2007

draft to final

The New Zealand Curriculum: Draft for Consultation 2006

The New Zealand Curriculum

The principles upon which all school curricula must be based include:

  • excellence
  • learning to learn
  • cultural heritage
  • equity
  • connections
  • coherence.

The principles upon which all school curricula must be based include:

  • high expectations
  • learning to learn
  • community engagement
  • Treaty of Waitangi
  • cultural diversity
  • inclusion
  • coherence
  • future focus.

The key competencies are:

  • thinking
  • using language, symbols, and texts
  • managing self
  • relating to others
  • participating and contributing.
The key competencies are unchanged.

New Zealand students are encouraged to value:

  • excellence
  • innovation, enquiry, and curiosity
  • diversity
  • respect
  • equity
  • community and participation
  • care for the environment
  • integrity.

Students will be encouraged to value:

  • excellence
  • innovation, inquiry, and curiosity
  • diversity
  • equity
  • community and participation
  • ecological sustainability
  • integrity

and to respect themselves, others and human rights.

The learning areas are: arts, English, learning languages, mathematics and statistics, health and physical education, science, social sciences and technology.

The specified learning areas are unchanged, but each has been revised to incorporate consultation feedback.

English, te reo Mãori, and New Zealand Sign Language are identified as official languages.

A section on designing a school curriculum is included. This section has been updated to capture the intent of the curriculum and provide clarity to schools on what is required and what is discretionary.
No explicit statement is included about requirements. Explicit requirements are stated for boards of trustees.

Published on: 17 Mar 2008